Winton House Centre is a Grade II listed building with an incredibly rich history. It was built around 1590 as part of a busy coaching inn, and was known as the 'White Hart' and provided a staging post for travellers on the London to Portsmouth Road. The land at the rear which is now the central car park had stables for 100 horses and pasture land. In the 18th century the building was updated by adding the Georgian frontage we see today and used as a family home, in 1902 it became a Dr's surgery.
In the 1920s leading professional and business people of the town formed a local Trust called 'The Petersfield Women's Institute and Blue Triangle Club' and in 1921 the Trust purchased Winton House to provide premises for 'cultural, mental, social and spiritual activities for all and a residential hostel for girls'. The building has been used as the town's library, a school and by the YWCA and was used during the war to house Service and Land Army girls, a Services Canteen, Firewatchers and Air Raid Precautions. The Winton Players started life at Winton House in 1947. In 1978 land at the rear was sold to enable Burgesmede to be built and it was around this time that several local charities were looking for a base and the Trust owning Winton House leased the ground floor to them.
In 2011 The Winton House Trust (who owned the building) and the Winton House Centre (who ran charitable services from the ground floor), merged to form the current Winton House Centre charity.